Calendars

2020-2021 Calendar

Thurs. Sept 3 – Wed. Sept 9 First week of lessons
Mon. Sept 7 No lessons - Labour Day
Mon. Oct. 12 No lessons - Thanksgiving 
Thur. Oct 22 - Fri. Oct. 23     No lessons - PD Day
Wed. Nov. 11 – Fri. Nov. 13   No lessons Remembrance Day, Day in Lieu, non-instructional days
Mon. Dec 21 – Fri. Jan. 1   No lessons - Christmas/Winter break
Sun. Jan. 24     January Recital
Mon. Feb. 15   No lessons Family Day
Thur. Feb. 25 - Fri. Feb. 26 No lessons - Teacher's Convention
Fri. Mar. 12   No lessons - PD Day
Fri. Mar. 12 *Two Much Fun Recital Rehearsal
Sat. Mar. 13 *Two Much Fun Duet Recital

Mon. Mar. 29 – Tue. Apr. 6

No lessons - Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter Monday, non-instructional day
Fri. May 14 No lessons - PD Day
Mon. May 24 - Wed. May 26 No lessons - Victoria Day, Day in Lieu, PD Day
Fri. June 18 - Thur. June 24 Last week of lessons
Sun. June 20 Year End Recital

  *Tentative

Please note that there are 3 additional PD days scheduled for Edmonton Public Schools on Mondays that WILL have lessons.

Monday & Fridays lesson times have 34 scheduled lessons over the year.

Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday lesson times have 37 scheduled lessons.

If a student is unable to attend their regularly scheduled lesson, the following options are available:

  1. Online lesson. An online lesson may be substituted for an in-person lesson at the regularly scheduled lesson time at any time for any reason. If either the student or the teacher is unable to pass the daily health screening questions, an in-person lesson will not be possible, and an online lesson will be substituted. If an in-person lesson is changed to an online lesson, their next lesson time can become an in-person lesson. The teacher should be notified by email or text before the beginning of the lesson time that you wish to substitute an online lesson.
  2. Makeup lesson. Makeup lessons at alternate times are available for illness, self-isolation, or quarantine of any member of the family, or deaths in the family. An alternate lesson time is not available for lessons missed for vacations, school events, or sport events. Makeup lessons can be either in-person or online, depending on the missed lesson. Makeup lessons can be scheduled by logging in at www.vickimartinmusic.com and registering for available times a minimum of 24 hours before the lesson time. Makeup lessons will usually be available during open or cancelled lesson times, two Thursday evenings a month, and one Saturday a month.  
  3. Video feedback lesson. If a makeup lesson time can not easily be arranged and a video feedback lesson is chosen as the alternative, the teacher will put together a 5-10 minute video explaining concepts and doing demonstrations for new material or assignments that the student is currently working on. This will be made available by a link to an unlisted video posted on YouTube. The student can submit a video of material that they have been working on up to 15 minutes long. The teacher will provide feedback on their video within the week by email or video as appropriate to the student.

The student or responsible adult will be responsible to book a makeup lesson or inform the teacher that they wish to have a video feedback lesson. If they do not do so by the end of the contract, they forfeit their lesson time. The teacher may cancel one lesson during the contract for illness without penalty or makeup lesson, and should the teacher need to cancel any additional lessons, the student or responsible adult will be given the option of a makeup lesson, a video feedback lesson, or a pro-rated individual lesson refund.

Download a printable version of the 2020-2021 calendar.

 

Current Schedule: 

For lessons starting in September 2020, students have the option of lesson formats of in person as much as possible (which for Alberta Stage 2 will only be hybrid lessons with every other week in person), hybrid lessons with alternating in person and online lessons, and fully online lessons.

As of September 11, 2020, my after school and evening hours are fully booked. Additional times during typical school hours (9am - 2pm weekdays) are available upon request.

If you are interested in lessons, please let me know!